- Role Model -

Emily Turpin

Profile

Name: Emily Turpin

Occupation: -

Employer: Currently Unemployed

Education: Diploma Business Admin from CONA, Non Destructive Testing Certificates at NAIT and SAIT, one course remaining in Business Management Degree from Athabasca University

Hometown: Burin, NL

Current community of residency: Conception Bay South

What does your typical work day involve?

In my most recent employment, I was in an office planning work for individuals onboard an oil platform as an Inspection Planner/Scheduler. Before that I was a field technician completing inspections in the oil and gas industry.

What do you love most about your profession? Why did you choose this career?

I really enjoyed the spontaneity and sense of keeping people safe with preventative maintenance.

When did you realize you wanted to work in STEM?

I moved to Alberta during a break in my education and ended up getting a job on site. I worked with an integrity group and became interested in the inspections that the reports I was logging were based on. I also had a friend who was involved in the inspection field and she was a great mentor at that time.

What were your favorite subjects in school?

My favourite subjects were social sciences and management courses.

What advice would you give girls, who are still in school, who might be considering a career like yours?

I would recommend talking to some other women in the field they are interested in to get first hand information about the job and the experience being a woman in that field.

Why do we need more women in skilled trades and STEM?

We need women to see themselves represented in these fields, so they know its an option for them and its achievable. We need more women in these fields also, so employers and industry learn how retain and treat women in their work force.

Who was your role model? What about this person inspires you?

My mother is my role model. She raised three children while working a full time job where she worked her way up through the ranks to become a manager. My father worked away so she frequently was on her own to manage work and home. She did both without ever sacrificing one or the other. She made it clear her career was important to her and that she sometimes would need to spend time away to complete work assignments or conferences. However, she always made our time together special and she was present and in the moment. Being a good mother and also having a career she could be proud of was an inspiration to me.

What do you do for fun? What are some of your hobbies/activities?

I enjoy hiking and exploring with my daughter. I also enjoying playing soccer and hockey and attending my nieces and nephews sporting events.

What superhero do you relate to most? Why?

I think I would have to choose Batman. He is considered a super hero but does not actually posses any of the super natural powers that most others have. His strength and abilities mostly come from innovation and adaptation along with the help of a few trusted friends. I feel like I also can use the resources I have around me to build on my strengths and fight whatever comes my way.

Anything else you wish to share?

I really love what this organization was created for and the work you continue to do with women and young girls. I feel strongly about exposing girls to careers they might not have heard of or considered for themselves previously. I also feel like I have experienced a lot as a woman working in a trade in a very male dominated environment and I would like the opportunity to help other women or employers navigate through these types of experiences.


SCIENCE

Stay in the loop!

ENGINEERING

Join our mailing list and receive the latest STEMforGIRLS news and announcements.

TECHNOLOGY

MATHEMATICS